2022 Murray State Corridor of Fame Occasions Deliberate For November

Murray State Athletics announced plans to honor the class of 2022 to the Murray State Hall of Fame. A big celebration of the class of eight happens Nov. 11-12 during Hall of Fame Weekend.

The 2022 class is the 40th from the MSU Hall of Fame since the first was inducted in 1965.

The annual Hall of Fame dinner is on the night of Nov. 11 at the CFSB Center. The 2022 class will also be recognized Nov. 12 at the Racer football game against Robert Morris (1 pm kick off) and a men’s basketball game against a yet to be determined opponent. Tickets to the dinner can be purchased online through the MSU ticket office.

Hall of Fame dinner tickets may be purchased through the MSU ticket online at GoRacers.com.

Check GoRacers.com this week and next as the 2022 class is revealed one day at a time.

Murray State Hall of Fame Notes

  • Launched in 1965 under athletics director Coach Roy Stewart who led MSU Football from 1932-67. He was inducted in 1971.
  • Inaugural class: Harlan Brodie (Football, 1927-1930), Joe Fulks (Basketball, 1941-42), Marshall Gage (Track & Field, 1957-61) and John Powless (Tennis, 1955-57).
  • The 2022 class is the 40th to be inducted and bring the total number enshrined at MSU to 174.
  • The 2022 class combined for eight OVC team championships, 28 All-OVC honors, eight OVC Player of the Year winners and three All-America selections.
  • Including the 2022 class, 34 people have been into the MSU Hall of Fame in the last five years of consecutive classes.
  • 22 head coaches are in the HOF including the latest to be honored, Tevester Anderson in 2021.
  • There are four women coaches in the HOF: Nita Head (tennis 1967-82), Connie Keasling (tennis 1984-87, 1992-11), Dew Drop Rowlett (basketball 1933-35) and Margaret Simmons (track & field 1968-91 ).
  • The newest HOF members come from soccer, a program that fielded a team for the first time in 2000 and softball that was launched in 2010.
  • Rebekah Clay was the first from soccer to be inducted in 2018 and Tara Isbell was the second in 2020.
  • Jenna Bradley was the first from softball to be inducted in 2020.

About Murray State Athletics
Located in Murray, Kentucky, the athletics department of Murray State University is an NCAA Division I member and plays in the Football Championship Subdivision. The Racers have 15 programs including men’s teams for baseball, basketball, cross country, football and golf and women’s teams for basketball, cross country, golf, soccer, softball, tennis, track & field and volleyball, as well as a mixed gender rifle team . The Racers became members of the Missouri Valley Conference on July 1, 2022. The Racers will become a member of the Missouri Valley Football Conference in 2023.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.