2022 Corridor of Fame Reveal – Wenning Set Requirements For Racer Girls’s Basketball

One of the top players in program history, Michelle Wenning is still prominent in the record book of Racer women’s basketball and now part of the class of 2022 to the Murray State Hall of Fame.

GoRacers.com is revealing the eight-person class of 2022 one day at a time. Reggie Swinton and Mike Cherry of MSU Football were revealed July 11.

Murray State fans are invited to attend the Hall of Fame dinner on the night of Nov. 11 at the CFSB Center. The 2022 class will also be recognized Nov. 12 at the Racer football game against Robert Morris (1 pm kick off) and a men’s basketball game against a yet to be determined opponent. Tickets to the dinner can be purchased online through the MSU ticket office.

Arriving in Murray in fall 1987, Wenning was an All-State performer out of New Washington, Indiana.

It didn’t take her long to make an impact for Coach Bud Childers, as Wenning shot .583 from the field on 156-of-266 to set the MSU single-season record and it’s still third all-time in 2022. That great freshman season, as the only player to start every game, set her on the path to becoming just the second MSU player to earn All-OVC honors in four seasons. The other was teammate Sheila Smith, MSU’s all-time scorer, who played with Wenning for two seasons. The 1987-88 team still owns the team scoring mark of 82.8 points per game.

Wenning kept her great play going through her senior season in which she had appeared in 116 games and produced 1,724 points. A mark that was third all-time at MSU in 1991 and is still sixth in 2022. She was a scoring machine with 94 games of double-figure scoring and she added outstanding rebounding skills as she is the only Racer to lead the team in rebounding for four seasons.

2022 Hall of Fame – Michelle Wenning – Basketball – 1987-91

  • Wenning is the seventh from women’s basketball to be inducted into the MSU Hall of Fame and the first since Jackie Mounts (1975-79) and Joi Scott (2005-07) in 2020.
  • A Four-time All-OVC selection (1987-88, 1988-89, 1989-90, 1990-91), was the second Racer to do it behind MSU’s first HOF selection, Sheila Smith who won her fourth All-OVC honor in 1988-89.
  • Named to OVC All-Freshman Team for 1987-88 season.
  • Named to the 1990 OVC All-Tournament Team.
  • Was the fifth Racer to join the 1000-Point Club. FIGURE OUT WHAT GAME IT HAPPENED IN???
  • Finished her career with 1,724 points for third place on the MSU all-time list and as of 2022 is still sixth at MSU.
  • Led the team in scoring in 1989-90 season at 16.0 and in 1990-91 at 14.8ppg.
  • Had 94 career games of scoring in double-figures. She was second all-time when she finished and is still fourth in 2022.
  • 1987-88 freshman season, shot .583 from the field on 156-of-266 for the best season in MSU history and is till third in 2022.
  • Only player to start every game in 1987-88 and she had 15 double-doubles.
  • Still owns three of the top-7 all-time shooting seasons in Racer history with two more outstanding seasons. He shot .557 in 1990-91 season (137-228) and .556 in 1989-90 (164-295).
  • Career field goal percentage of .561 (598-1026) was first in MSU history for 17 seasons until it was topped by Joi Scott in 2007.
  • Her 17 made free throws against Eastern Kentucky (Feb. 9, 1991) was the MSU single-game record for 17 seasons until it was topped by amber guffey at 18 January 2007.
  • Attempted 27 free throws in the same game that is still the MSU record.
  • It is still second in 2022 with 528 made free throws, only bested by amber guffey of 587 in 2009.
  • Her 788 career free throw attempts still tops at MSU in 2022.
  • Her 9.7 rebounds per game average is still third at MSU in 2022.
  • High scoring games included: 25 points vs Saint Louis (12-12-87) in her seventh game as a Racer. 28 points vs. Youngstown State (02-15-1988), 27 points vs. SEMO (11-28-1989), 26 points vs. Austin Peay (02-02-1991).
  • One of only eight MSU players with 100 career starts. Her de ella 103 starts de ella is km in 2022.
  • Was first at MSU when she finished in 1991 with 45 career double-doubles. She still ranks second at MSU in 2022.
  • It is still the only player in Racer history to lead the team in rebounding for four-consecutive seasons with totals of 9.2rpg, 8.5rpg, 8.4rpg and 9.3rpg.
  • Was part of the Racers’ 1987-88 team that still holds the program record by scoring 82.8ppg. The only MSU team to ever average more than 80 points per game.
  • Wore jersey No. 34 at MSU.
  • Teamed with MSU’s first WBB hall of fame pick, Sheila Smith, to help the Racers rise to new heights under Coach Bid Childers with three-straight third place finishes with a combined record of 60-29 (.869) in three seasons and 28- 14 (.666) in three OVC seasons from 1986-89.
  • The Racers success with Wenning and Smith marked the program’s first winning seasons (and 20-win seasons) in the modern-era of women’s basketball in the OVC which began with the 1971-72 season.

2022 Hall of Fame Dinner & Program

The annual Hall of Fame dinner is on the night of Nov. 11 at the CFSB Center. The 2022 class will also be recognized Nov. 12 at the Racer football game against Robert Morris (1 pm kick off) and a men’s basketball game against a yet to be determined opponent. Hall of Fame dinner tickets may be purchased through the MSU ticket office online at GoRacers.com. https://am.ticketmaster.com/murray/2022hofdinner

Racer Football Mini-Ticket Plan

Racer football three-game mini-plan packages are now available for purchase. The package includes a general admission ticket for the home opener vs. Jacksonville State (Sept. 10), vs. Eastern Illinois (Sept. 24) and vs. Robert Morris (Nov. 12). The home opener will be a night to remember as we “Light up the Stew” and giveaway 3,000 LED blue and gold glow boom sticks presented by CFSB. The Racers return home two weeks later for the always popular “Family Weekend”, and finish out the season at home with Hall of Fame and Military Day. Fans can purchase their mini-plans here: https://am.ticketmaster.com/murray/2022footballminiplan Each purchase of a 3-game mini-plan will also include one general admission ticket to a Racers home basketball game at CFSB Center during the 2022-23 season.

About Murray State Athletics
Located in Murray, Kentucky, the athletics department of Murray State University is an NCAA Division I member and plays in the Football Championship Subdivision. The Racers have 15 programs including men’s teams for baseball, basketball, cross country, football and golf and women’s teams for basketball, cross country, golf, soccer, softball, tennis, track & field and volleyball, as well as a mixed gender rifle team . The Racers became members of the Missouri Valley Conference on July 1, 2022. The Racers will become a member of the Missouri Valley Football Conference in 2023.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.