2022 ACC/Massive Ten Ladies’s Basketball Problem Matchups Introduced

ROSEMONT, Ill. — Today, the matchups for the 15th ACC/Big Ten Women’s Basketball Challenge were announced, with the annual event once again featuring 14 high-quality games.

The 2022 ACC/Big Ten Women’s Basketball Challenge will take place over two days, beginning Wednesday, November 30, with Big Ten Conference schools Minnesota, Penn State and Purdue playing host to ACC counterparts that evening, while Illinois, Ohio State and Rutgers venture on the road. The following night (Thursday, December 1), Indiana, Iowa, Michigan State and Wisconsin will serve as the Big Ten Conference host schools, while Maryland, Michigan, Nebraska and Northwestern will play at ACC sites.

“The ACC/Big Ten Challenge has a longstanding history as one of the elite non-conference women’s basketball events in the country,” said Megan Khan, Big Ten Conference Vice President of Women’s Basketball. “This year’s Challenge features a lineup of exciting, high-quality matchups, including 14 teams that competed in last year’s NCAA Tournament. We look forward to two days of competitive games and showing exceptional women’s basketball across the country.”

Game times and television coverage for the 2022 ACC/Big Ten Women’s Basketball Challenge will be announced at a later date. All Big Ten Conference home games will appear on either the Big Ten Network (BTN), B1G+, or one of the ESPN networks, while ACC home games will be shown on either the ACC Network, ACC Network Extra (ACCNX)the ACC’s Regional Sports Networks (RSN), or one of the ESPN networks.

Five of the matchups in the 2022 ACC/Big Ten Women’s Basketball Challenge will feature teams appearing in ESPN’s 2022-23 “Way Too Early Top 25” rankings — No. 6 Iowa plays host to No. 8 NC State, No. 12 Indiana welcomes No. 13 North Carolina, No. 15 Ohio State visits seventh-ranked Louisville, No. 18 Maryland travels to No. 9 Notre Dame, and No. 22 Nebraska heads to No. 11 Virginia Tech.

The Big Ten and ACC have been among the most competitive conferences on the national women’s basketball landscape for many years, with the conferences combining to send 18 schools to postseason play in 2021-22.

The Big Ten Conference had six schools (one shy of the conference record) qualify for the NCAA Tournament back in March, as Indiana, Iowa, Maryland, Michigan, Nebraska, and Ohio State all competed in the national tournament. For the second-consecutive year, the Big Ten Conference had a conference-record four schools (Indiana, Maryland, Michigan, and Ohio State) reach the NCAA Sweet 16, with Michigan advancing to the NCAA Elite Eight for the first time in school history . In addition, Minnesota and Purdue participated in the Women’s National Invitation Tournament (WNIT), both reaching the second round of the tournament.

The complete schedule of home/away matchups for the 2022 ACC/Big Ten Women’s Basketball Challenge can be found below.

Wednesday, November 30
Illinois at Pitt
Ohio State at Louisville
Syracuse at Purdue
Virginia at Penn State
Wake Forest at Minnesota
rutgers at Boston College

Thursday, December 1
north western at Duke
Michigan miami
Maryland at Notre Dame
North Carolina at Indiana
Nebraska at Virginia Tech
NC State at Iowa
Florida State at Wisconsin
Georgia Tech at michigan state

Big Ten Conference (bigten.org) is an association of world-class universities whose member institutions share a common mission of research, graduate, professional and undergraduate teaching, and public service. Founded in 1896, the Big Ten Conference has upheld a comprehensive set of shared practices and policies that enforce the priority of academics in the lives of students competing in intercollegiate athletics and emphasize the values ​​of integrity, fairness, and competitiveness. The broad-based programs of the 14 Big Ten Conference institutions will provide over $200 million in direct financial support to more than 9,800 students for more than 11,000 participation opportunities on 350 teams in 42 different sports. Big Ten Conference sponsors 28 official conference sports, 14 for men and 14 for women, including the addition of men’s ice hockey and men’s and women’s lacrosse since 2013.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.